No events found. View all events »

Now Open: 2017 Silver Medal Award Nominations

Dear AAF Acadiana Members, 

With the kick-off of the 2017 American Advertising Awards season, I’m honored to now open nominations for this year’s prestigious Silver Medal Award.

I encourage you to look amongst your peers and honor someone who meets the criteria below with a nomination. All nominations will be reviewed and brought to a vote by a panel of past award recipients and AAF Acadiana presidents to select our next honoree. The award will be presented at the 2017 American Advertising Awards on Saturday, March 4, 2017.

Established in 1959, this award recognizes the men and women of our community who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern.

How to Nominate

A letter outlining your nominee’s qualifications is required for consideration. Submit your letters to by 5pm on Friday, February 10, 2017.

Silver Medal Award Criteria

  • Contributions to his/her own company. The recipient must have achieved success in one of the areas: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service company. 

  • Creative ability. The recipient should have shown a consistent, high degree of creative and original thinking in whatever phase of advertising the person has worked. 

  • Contribution to the general advancement of advertising. The recipient should have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising community.

  • Contribution to the community. The recipient should be someone who has been active in civil, religious or other groups dedicated to some phase of human or social welfare. 

  • It is important to note that the Silver Medal Award is not a lifetime achievement award. There are many people within our advertising community who have accomplished the above criteria and continue to do so on a daily basis.

    Previous award winners include Ron Gomez, Evan Hughes, Donald Bonin, Dutch Kepler, Bruce Conque, Tom Pears, Steve May, Carol Ross, Sandy Kaplan, George Graham, Richard Barra, Cheryl Taylor-Bowie, Brad Broussard, Cherry Fisher May, Ann Darrah, Megan Barra, William Dalton, Kiki Frayard, George Foster, Donovan Grettner, Terry Palmer, Kerry Palmer, Doug Dugas, Odie Terry, Cathi Pavy, Kevin Prejean, Chris Allain, Bob Holbrook, Cherie Hebert and most recently, Denise Gallagher.

    I look forward to your nominations and another successful award season! 


    Blake Lagneaux

    President, AAF Acadiana